notes from the shore

Adventures in Home Recording

New Input

I picked up a new tool for music writing this week. Last year when I bought a decent laptop computer (Toshiba Satellite dual-core) I thought I would be able to compose anywhere, any time I had it with me.

That turned out to be somewhat wishful thinking, mostly owing to my inability to hear the notes accurately in my head before playing them. Last Sunday I was working at my laptop sitting in the cafe at church – again staring at a double brass quartet I’ve been working on, unable to move forward. I decided at that point that I needed to substitute a software purchase for a hardware purchase.

The software would have been the new Garritan World Instruments, although by the time it is released, I may again have the cash to buy it. The hardware is a small MIDI keyboard that can easily connect to my laptop. After some research, I chose…

The M-Audio Oxygen 8 v2.

2 octaves of velocity sensitive keys, 8 knobs, mod wheel, pitch bend, and transport controls. Bus powered so I can power it directly from the laptop, and class complient so I don’t need any special drivers.

But, most importantly, I can now play instruments as I’m writing. Already I’ve used it to rework a section of that brass double quartet, and I look forward to many more hours of use.

February 1, 2009 - Posted by | Home Studio

4 Comments »

  1. […] brass quartet with a predominant fugal section. My work on it has been aided by the addition of my mini-controller keyboard, but not as much as I had hoped. I just don’t have enough […]

    Pingback by Production Update - March 11, 2009 « playing in peoria | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] (notice that the name of the blog has changed) and my MIDI interface is in a box back in Peoria. My keyboard has a USB input, so I can still record keyboard […]

    Pingback by Prelude:From the Rising « notes from the shore | May 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] a two-octave keyboard so I could carry it along with a laptop for remote composing. I picked up an Oxygen8 to fulfill the […]

    Pingback by Project Studio Upgrades, Pt. 3 – Keyboards « notes from the shore | July 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. […] a two-octave keyboard so I could carry it along with a laptop for remote composing. I picked up an Oxygen8 to fulfill the […]

    Pingback by Project Studio Upgrades, Pt. 3 – Keyboards | My Blog | February 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

