notes from the shore

Adventures in Home Recording

I Did It

alto-recorder1

In my last post I mentioned about having troubles playing the lower recorder line from Father’s World with the soprano acoustic recorder loaned to me by a friend. After making that post, I checked out Ebay on a whim to see if anyone is selling recorders there. Are they!

Right now the Musical Instruments>Woodwinds>Recorders subcategory has 266 auctions going on. That’s a lot of recorders, and they include everything from el cheapo Sporanos (that don’t seem to sell), to older wooden altos and tenors, to even one sub-contrabass that I saw with an opening bid of $2300.

Berkley Winds offers one of these on Ebay every day with a starting bid of $0.99 (they make it up in $20 shipping and handling,  so I knew I was getting a $21 recorder).

I lost the first one because I wouldn’t go above $25 (incld. S&H), but one the next day at $1. There’s one up there today that’s bid up to $10. Foolish if you’ve done a little research.

So now that I’ve got an Alto recorder (or will middle of next week), I’m wondering if I should bid on the $35 Yamaha tenor that reappears from time to time…

March 13, 2009 - Posted by | Hymn CD Project, Production Diary | ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Can Stop Any Time I Want… Really! The aformentioned Alto Recorder appeared on my doorstep earlier this week. I eagerly opened it, assembled it, and […]

    Pingback by I Can Stop Any Time I Want… Really! « playing in peoria | March 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

